• Welcome to our Forum! Ask PC-Build Questions, discuss Tech-News, Content Creation & Gaming Workloads or get to know the CGDirector Community off-topic. Feel free to chime in with insight or questions on any existing topic too! :)

Advice for buying a new laptop for 3D animation

W

Will

Tech Intern
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm looking to purchase a new laptop and this will be my first non Apple buy!
I'm an animator working in C4D (using Arnold but will be moving into Redshift) and After effects, and learning Maya. I'm not looking for my new laptop to be my primary workstation, as I'll have that at work. I am however looking for a machine which will be powerful enough should I need to work remotely on heavy 3D projects (probably won't need to render long sequences but will need to do look dev at least) and at a budget of £1500
After some research based on some great advice from this site, and with a budget of £1500, I've whittled a list down to the below three options. Any advice, or experience on which would be best suited to my needs and budget, and best value for money, would be hugely appreciated.

ASUS ROG Strix G17 G713 17.3" Gaming Laptop
£1400
https://www.cclonline.com/product/a...crosoft-windows-10-home-g713qm-k4218t-364937/

Gigabyte AORUS 15P XD 15.6" RTX 3070 Laptop
£1578
https://www.cclonline.com/product/g...windows-10-pro-aorus-15p-xd-73uk224sh-354894/

MSI GS66 STEALTH 11UE-250UK GAMING LAPTOP
£1450

Thank you in advance ,

Will

Last edited by a moderator:
Jerry James

Jerry James

Hardware Nerd @ CGDirector
Staff member
Reaction score
Hey Will, if I were you, I'd go with the AORUS model purely looking at hardware. An extra 178-odd GBP is fine for the graphics card bump, IMO. But I'd recommend asking around locally to make sure that the warranty/repair/RMA experience won't be a hassle if ever needed.

W

Will

Tech Intern
Reaction score
Hi Jerry,

Thank you for your response and advice.