• Welcome to our Forum! Ask PC-Build Questions, discuss Tech-News, Content Creation & Gaming Workloads or get to know the CGDirector Community off-topic. Feel free to chime in with insight or questions on any existing topic too! :)

Advice needed / parts list - 3D graphics workstation - $ 2,500 - 3,000 budget.

nathank9000

nathank9000

Tech Intern
Reaction score
Hi, everyone. Forum noob here, looking for advice.

Here’s my deal: I used to be involved in hardware, and know how to put a system together, but my knowledge is ~4 years out of date, and now that I need to put together a workstation, I’m overwhelmed AF with the options. I need it for my design business, which is thriving (which is why I need a better comp) but it’s killing my spare time (which is why I’m looking for advice and shortcuts).

It’s going to be a graphics workstation - Sketchup, Enscape, CorelDRAW, AutoCAD, some Revit. So the focus isn’t on frame rate but on processing power, reliability, and graphics performance.

I have $ 2,500 to spend, can push it up to $ 3,000 if needed.

Maybe allocate $ 500ish of that for a NAS box with RAID 0+1.
Have a monitor I’m happy with, so that’s not a concern.

Physical space is not a problem - I want a huge tower or desktop, with plenty of space. Don’t care about RGB lights, actually prefer the “A/V receiver” blackout look. Not married to any specific brand, so either Intel or AMD, either Nvidia or ATI, doesn’t matter. Whatever works better for the money.

The main dilemma I’m struggling with is “invest in a stronger CPU or max out videocards”? Like, should I spend $ 1,200 on a Threadripper or should I get more GPU power and RAM?

Then, Ryzen vs Threadripper vs Threadripper Pro? Or… what else is out there?