• Welcome to our Forum! Ask PC-Build Questions, discuss Tech-News, Content Creation & Gaming Workloads or get to know the CGDirector Community off-topic. Feel free to chime in with insight or questions on any existing topic too! :)

Building PC Workstation for 3D Modeling, 2D/3D Animation, and Illustration

Z

ZomWaffles

Tech Intern
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I'm completely new to building computers but over the past two weeks I've hunkered down up trying to come up with a parts list that can handle the myriad of software I'll be using on it. This site was instrumental in helping me understand what's what, but I'd love some advice on what I have planned so far before I make my wallet cry.

The focus of the build is mostly 3D modeling, animation, and illustration. Programs for work and study I'll be using include ZBrush, Blender, Maya, 3ds Max, ToonBoom Harmony, Unity, Adobe Substance Painter and the Creative Cloud. My PC won't be geared towards rendering, but I do have some questions about GPU compatibility in that event regardless.

My current configuration:
  • Intel Core i7-12700K 3.6 GHz 12-Core Processor
  • Noctua NH-D15 82.5 CFM CPU Cooler
  • MSI MAG Z690 TOMAHAWK WIFI DDR4 ATX LGA1700 Motherboard
  • Patriot Viper Steel 64 GB (2 x 32 GB) DDR4-3600 CL18 Memory
  • XFX Radeon RX 6800 XT 16 GB Speedster MERC 319 CORE Video Card
  • Seagate FireCuda 530 1 TB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive
  • Enermax Revolution D.F. 850 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply
  • Fractal Design Define R5 ATX Mid Tower Case
  • Dell UltraSharp 27 4K USB-C Hub Monitor - U2723QE (or 27"-32" 4k ASUS ProArt monitor of similar caliber)
PC part-picker link for reference

The only part I have so far is the Intel Core i7-12700K CPU - everything else is adjustable. My budget is flexible, around or under $3000 but I will be purchasing several pieces secondhand (for less risky parts) which brings down the overall cost. I'm buying in the United States.