• Welcome to our Forum! Ask PC-Build Questions, discuss Tech-News, Content Creation & Gaming Workloads or get to know the CGDirector Community off-topic. Feel free to chime in with insight or questions on any existing topic too! :)

Choosing the best motherboard for new build with AMD 5900X

A

Adam Czajka

I'm new to content creation, have a semi-decent understanding of building computers, and looking to build a pc for mainly Premiere Pro, After Effects and Cinema 4D.

My current pc is very old, and for now I plan to buy all the components on my list except the GPU. This will improve my workflow massively and in time I intend to purchase the GPU, possibly more ram etc. But for now I need to make sure I buy an appropriate motherboard with my future build in mind.

As I'm fairly new to content creation I'm not entirely sure if I will need this, but if 2 GPU's would make big differences to my render times, I'd like this to be an option down the line as I want to get into more high-end work using Octane/Redshift etc.

My component list so far:

Processor - AMD 5900X
CPU Cooler - Noctua NH-D15
RAM - Patriot Viper 4 Blackout Series DDR4 64GB (2 x 32GB) 3200MHz Kit [a possible further 64Gb further down the line]
GPU -
Nvidia RTX 3070 [possibly two down the line, I should also mention I do have a current old Nvidia card which will go in for now]

Storage - Samsung 970 EVO Plus Nmve 1Tb [I have two normal solid states I'll be transferring from my current pc]
Power - Corsair 1000 W
Motherboard - ?
Case -
Will use my current one suitable for ATX form factors.