• Welcome to our Forum! Ask PC-Build Questions, discuss Tech-News, Content Creation & Gaming Workloads or get to know the CGDirector Community off-topic. Feel free to chime in with insight or questions on any existing topic too! :)

DDR5 RAM problems above 64GB?

avrepublic

avrepublic

Tech Assistant
Reaction score
Hello!

According to a rep from OriginPC, their team has encountered stability issues / problems on newer systems supporting DDR5 ram when exceeding 64GB!

Can anyone elaborate on this or confirm?

My natural tendency is to max out the ram at 128 when building a new work machine, but i have no experience with DDR5 yet or the AM5 platform.

Specifically, I am looking at creating this build:

ASUS PROART X670E CREATOR MOBO
Ryzen 7950X
Nvidia 4090 GeForce
+(128GB DDR5?)

thank you!!!

Jerry James

Jerry James

Hardware Nerd @ CGDirector
Staff member
Reaction score
Can anyone elaborate on this or confirm?
Yes it is a problem. Here's an excerpt from an article that we'll be publishing soon:

That said, hitting this 6000 MT/s overclock without introducing an element of instability is a whole other discussion. AMD’s new memory controller (and Intel as well to an extent) is still finnicky to say the least and you’ll have a hard time going above DDR5-5600 for high-density memory kits (> 2*16GB).

It really boils down to your luck, what motherboard you’re using, and your luck. That’s it.

Did I mention luck?

I decided to spend a couple of days testing memory, and here are some notes:

• Many of my kits refused to POST past the DDR5-6000 mark using their XMP (eXPO?) profiles.
  • Several of my kits refused to POST at the DDR5-6000 mark with their eXPO profiles. Although a bit of tinkering with the timings did finally get most of them to boot, I wouldn’t trust that overclock in a workstation setting.