• Welcome to our Forum! Ask PC-Build Questions, discuss Tech-News, Content Creation & Gaming Workloads or get to know the CGDirector Community off-topic. Feel free to chime in with insight or questions on any existing topic too! :)

HELP NEEDED TO BUILD MY FIRST WORKSTATION FOR VFX/CG/REALTIME GRAPHIC!!!

carlo.alleva

carlo.alleva

Tech Intern
Reaction score
Hi, Everyone!

I'm new on the forum and the topic probably will be something you already discuss a million time.
Sorry about that. I hope the community will help me out with this decision, cause I' will invest a good amount of money in my new build.

I'm a motion designer and lookdev artist, which means that the programs that I will use most are Nuke, Maya, Arnold, Redshift, Zbrush; substance painter and designer.
I've also started using Unreal Engine to create environments for virtual production.

I've read tons of articles about the build of every kind.
After a couple of months, I end up with this building:

• Be Quiet! Silent Base 601 Window Silver
  • AMD Ryzen 9 5950X 3.4GHz 16 Core CPU – 4.9GHz Turbo
  • Gigabyte X570 AORUS Master Motherboard with USB Type-C
  • NVidia GeForce RTX 3090 24GB GDDR6X GPU
  • 128GB CORSAIR VENGEANCE LPX 3600MHz (4x32GB)
  • 1TB WD BLACK SN850 NVMe SSD PCIe 4.0 SSD (7000MB/R, 5000MB/W)
  • 16TB Seagate 3.5″ Ironwolf Pro HDD, 2 Years Rescue+DataRecovery on registration
  • Corsair Hydro Series H115i PRO 280mm Processor Liquid Cooling
  • Corsair RM1000x 1000 Watt 80 PLUS® Gold Certified Fully Modular ATX PSU
  • Built in Wi-Fi and Bluetooth with the Motherboard
  • Integrated Sound Card On The Motherboard
  • Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64 Bit
This is a complete beast but I realized that at the end of the day I probably don't new all this power for my work, or to be clear I don't need it now, but I like to configure a machine that in the feature will be possible to upgrade.

The only component that I will keep for sure is the processor. ( 5950x )