• Welcome to our Forum! Ask PC-Build Questions, discuss Tech-News, Content Creation & Gaming Workloads or get to know the CGDirector Community off-topic. Feel free to chime in with insight or questions on any existing topic too! :)

PC build for Houdini Indie, and Maya Indie!

• Thread starter simhachal kumar
  • Start date
S

simhachal kumar

I’m a beginner (started 6 months ago) and I was thinking about a PC build for Houdini, Maya. I want to know if going with a CPU with more cores benefits Houdini simulations - does it matter as I am just starting out?
For Pyro FX, Fluids, Particle, DestructionFX, Grains, etc.,

AMD Ryzen 9 5900X is like the base CPU, I’m considering. I play games too. And, money is not a problem. But, don’t want to spend on something I won’t use/benefit at all.

I want the PC to last for a while. 3-5 years, or perhaps, even more. 😬

PC spec, I’m thinking:
1. CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
2. GPU: ASUS TUF RTX 3090
3. RAM: 64GB (4 * 16GB 3600MHz CL18, DDR4)

I read on the internet that AMD may have plans for a new AMD Threadripper with 16 cores (waiting for CES 2021.)

Software I’m gonna use:
1. Maya Indie
2. Houdini Indie
3. Redshift (for rendering.)
4. Zbrush too (sometime later, 1-1.5 years later when I’m good enough with modelling. Heard Zbrush benefits from more cores.)

As I said earlier, can afford, but don’t want to spend on something I won’t use. I know 64GB of RAM is too much for a beginner, and I read that DDR5 is gonna be out in 2-3 years.

Should I go for AMD 5950X (when in stock) instead, or should I wait for the Threadripper 5000 series?
Or, Is AMD Ryzen 5900X fine?

Jerry James

Jerry James

Hardware Nerd @ CGDirector
Staff member
Reaction score
You might find this thread interesting :) We were just discussing something similar here as well - PC Workstation for Cinema 4D Simulations (X-Particles & TurbulenceFD) & Houdini | CGDirector Forum