• Welcome to our Forum! Ask PC-Build Questions, discuss Tech-News, Content Creation & Gaming Workloads or get to know the CGDirector Community off-topic. Feel free to chime in with insight or questions on any existing topic too! :)

Supermicro M12SWA-TF GPU build

Aventador

Aventador

Tech Assistant
Reaction score
Hi,
Does anyone have any luck with the following components:
- Supermicro M12SWA-TF
- Zotac RTX-3080 10Gb (x2)
- 1200W PS
This was a complete build purchased last week from Newegg with a Supermicro case and 128Gb RAM and two drives. Issue is that machine doesn’t post with either GPU in either of the 4 possible PCI-E x16 slots.
It works fine without the GPUs and I’ve had no problem loading alma Linux 8.5 off a usb stick. I’ve spent a day emailing Supermicro support and had a zoom to conclude GPUs are bad. Tried same GPUs in my old Supermicro SYS7038A-i and no luck either. That one has a Nvidia P4000 in it.
I have nearly 10 years experience with Supermicro and double that with other headless servers, Sun, Tyan so know that if the GPU has an issue I can still shell into server or use IPMI. Neither work here so inability to post impedes O/S booting. Anyone get this GPU working on this mobo?

Thanks,
Henry

Jerry James

Jerry James

Hardware Nerd @ CGDirector
Staff member
Reaction score
Hey Henry, I haven't really heard of any compatibility issues like this one. Did you try contacting Zotac support? They're notorious for bad off-the-shelf experiences with too many DOAs. I've personally had 2 brand new graphics cards just show up dead and had to RMA/return them.

Aventador

Aventador

Tech Assistant
Reaction score
Hey Jerry,