• Welcome to our Forum! Ask PC-Build Questions, discuss Tech-News, Content Creation & Gaming Workloads or get to know the CGDirector Community off-topic. Feel free to chime in with insight or questions on any existing topic too! :)

Want buttery smooth playback for 4k footage on AFX/Premiere

A

aphamfx

Tech Intern
Reaction score
Hello! I'm from Australia and in the animation/film industry. I work as an editor and motion graphic artist. Unfortunately, I lack the knowledge when it comes to the technical side of things and was hoping for some guidance. (Love your website and posts, and have learnt a lot!)

Issue/concern
Our computer at work is sluggish when it comes to playback in AFX/Premiere when dealing with HD and especially 4k footage (so we always have to rely on proxies). I just want to be able to preview my work without always having to pause and to be able to render and export my projects faster - is that possible? Or are proxies the only solution?

Main workload
Adobe AfterEffects for motion graphics using HD and 4k+ assets. (Motion tracking, rotoscoping, animation)

Secondary workloads
Video editing in Premiere Pro (animatics and MVs), Photoshop, Lightroom, inDesign, Illustrator, and recently we've been using Blender for 3D modelling and lighting.

More context
I'm always running at least two to three Adobe softwares at a time especially when it comes to 'dynamic linking' between Premiere and AFX or having Media Encoder exporting in the background so that I can multitask projects. Our projects/provided assets are starting to get bigger too, so I'm also worried about that. (We were given RED footage for our latest project, and that was a real struggle even with proxies and we've got some live-action TV series in development and almost in production that'll eventually come our way)

Budget
At the moment we don't have a specific budget as I was told to get what I think is best, so I've chosen the highest cost in the PC builder for the time being.