• Welcome to our Forum! Ask PC-Build Questions, discuss Tech-News, Content Creation & Gaming Workloads or get to know the CGDirector Community off-topic. Feel free to chime in with insight or questions on any existing topic too! :)

Blender on a Teacher's Budget

L

lee_mackey

Tech Intern
Reaction score
I'd love to get some feedback on this lower-end ($1500) Blender workstation. I'm a teacher and hobbyist, I teach coding to kids but recently started teaching them Blender too. We're working on Ryzen 3 laptops w/8 GB so it won't be hard to see some major improvement :)

CGDirector.com Parts List: https://www.cgdirector.com/pc-builder/?=6NZjL

CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 7700X 4.5GHz 8-Core Processor ($349.00)
CPU Cooler: be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 ($89.90)
Motherboard: MSI PRO B650-P WIFI ATX AM5 ($188.26)
GPU: Nvidia RTX 3070 8GB - MSI Gaming X Trio ($339.99)
Memory: 64GB (2x32GB) TEAMGROUP T-Force Vulcan DDR5-5200 CL40 ($143.99)
Storage PCIe-SSD: Crucial P5 Plus 2TB NVMe M.2 Solid State Drive ($97.99)
Power Supply: Seasonic Focus GM-650, 650W 80+ Gold Power Supply ($128.64)
Case: Fractal Design Define R5 Black ATX Mid Tower Case ($125.99)
Total: $1463.76

**The main problem with this build is that the GPU linked here is pulling a USED card from Amazon, which I don't want.** A search for this card ("RTX 3070 Gaming X Trio") at Amazon shows a retail price of $499. How about swapping out the RTX 3070 for a 3060 Ti? There are many different versions of this card but it's generally around $350.

On the low-budget front, I'm considering dropping RAM down to 32 GB, and the SSD down to 1 TB to save $100 total. (I have an extra 500 GB SSD that I'm going to use for the OS.)

Finally, although the price checks link to Amazon as a vendor, are there any advantages (e.g. price) to be gained by using a custom PC builder instead of a general retail vendor like Amazon? Thanks for the great site!

Jerry James

Jerry James

Hardware Nerd @ CGDirector
Staff member
Reaction score