• Welcome to our Forum! Ask PC-Build Questions, discuss Tech-News, Content Creation & Gaming Workloads or get to know the CGDirector Community off-topic. Feel free to chime in with insight or questions on any existing topic too! :)

Building a new computer for the office, and refreshing the old computer for working at home.

J

Janjanjanjan

Tech Intern
Reaction score
Hi!
I'm an artist working mostly with creating artwork and "good enough" visualizations for public art competitions for myself and clients.
I got good advice here on my last build from Jerry James, and now I'm on the verge of turning my current computer into the "old" computer for work at home and building the "new" computer for the office. Sorry for the long post.

Tasks on the computer in order of importance:
Main workload:
1. Modelling in Rhino 3d, where I also import huge 3d models of buildings for visualizations.
2. Screenshots of animated 4K viewport in Rhino 3d with Nvidia GeForce experience. (As it is now, I always have to compromise on the amount of lights and material detail, unfortunately.)
Secondary workload:
3. Adobe Photoshop. It seems as if all Adobe products benefit from the Intel CPU?
4. Adobe After Effects.
5. Adobe InDesign, and Adobe Illustrator.
6. Lots of other random applications that as far as I know are not important to consider for the choice of system.

No gaming at all. No "real" rendering because of impatient clients and self.
My workflow demands having many applications open at the same time. (Not while screen shooting though, then I only have Rhino 3d running).

The budget for the new computer is roughly 1500$ for only MB, CPU and RAM.
But if this build is "future proof"... I can postpone my upgrade cycle a couple of years, and expand the budget a bit. I usually upgrade every 2-5 years, depending on the need.
I buy parts in Sweden which is not super cheap, but can deduct the VAT.
Some degree of energy efficiency is also considered a plus.