• Welcome to our Forum! Ask PC-Build Questions, discuss Tech-News, Content Creation & Gaming Workloads or get to know the CGDirector Community off-topic. Feel free to chime in with insight or questions on any existing topic too! :)

New 3D Artist PC Build for Long Term

C

Christina D.

Hello Everyone!

I am new here, and was super happy to find a site for PC building for a CG artist. Since this is my first build by myself ( I have had other friends in tech build my previous computers which were good, but not powerful enough to last past 5 years) I wanted to make sure I have the right parts and specs for what I need for this computer.

I am a 3D modeler/sculptor/generalist, and heavily use Maya, Blender, Substance, Zbrush, and Houdini. I have done most rendering in Arnold, RenderMan, and currently want to move more towards GPU rendering with Redshift, and also real time with Unreal. Other programs I work in are Agisoft, Photoshop. After Effects, 3DS Max, and Modo.

My goal is to be able to run everything listed smoothly, and also future proof it for at least 10 years or more (whether it is the parts being stronger, or being able to easily upgrade and replace parts.

I have built my ideal setup on PC Part Picker and combined it with what I had auto built on this site's part builder.