• Welcome to our Forum! Ask PC-Build Questions, discuss Tech-News, Content Creation & Gaming Workloads or get to know the CGDirector Community off-topic. Feel free to chime in with insight or questions on any existing topic too! :)

PC build for Environmental concept art

L

LittleUnicorn

Tech Intern
Reaction score
Hi!

I am an Environmental concept artist in my last year of uni and I was looking to building a PC that will work for 3D modeling, rendering, animation and also gaming. Apps I usually use are Maya, 3Ds max, starting to learn Blender and possibly Unreal Engine and the Adobe creative suite. As for games I usually play low demanding games. I am also hoping that I could stream/record videos on it.
Thank you a lot for writing this article, it helped me understand better how assembling your own PC works. I am still quite unsure though if my build has any compatibility issues or I should change for better/cheaper parts. My budget is around $2500USD. I hope to have a build that will stay for a couple of years without having to upgrade too much, at most the ram.
For now I have:

CPU:AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 3.8GHz box
CPU cooler: be quiet Dark rock pro 4
Motherboard: GIGABYTE aorus elite x570 /// ASUS rog crosshair hero x570 <- Can not decide between those 2
GPU: Nvidia RTX 3070 or 3080. Which one do you think will be better?
RAM: G.Skill Trident Z Neo 32GB DDR4 3600MHz CL16 1.35v Dual Channel Kit
SSD: Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB PCI Express 3.0 x4 M.2 2280
HDD: Seagate BarraCuda 2TB SATA-III 7200RPM 256MB
Power supply: Corsair RMx Series RM750x 2018, 80+ Gold, 750W or the 650w
Case: SilentiumPC Regnum RG6V EVO TG ARGB or a NZXT h700i. If I go with the nzxt case, should I switch to a kraken liquid cooling cooler instead of the air one? I am still new to the liquid vs air cooling system.

Thank you again!

Jerry James

Jerry James

Hardware Nerd @ CGDirector
Staff member
Reaction score
Hey LittleUnicorn, the build looks good to me.