• Welcome to our Forum! Ask PC-Build Questions, discuss Tech-News, Content Creation & Gaming Workloads or get to know the CGDirector Community off-topic. Feel free to chime in with insight or questions on any existing topic too! :)

Recommended Graphics Card Help

R

Ricky

Guest
Hey guy, i was just wondering if i could get some help, i'm really new to all this stuff and everything is like a foreign language to me

i'm about to buy this recommended build:

CPU: Intel i7 10700k 3.7GHz 8-Core Processor ($389.00)
CPU Cooler: be quiet! Dark Rock 4 ($74.90)
Motherboard: ASUS ROG Strix Z490-E Gaming ATX LGA1200 ($291.99)
GPU: Nvidia RTX 2070 SUPER 8GB - MSI Gaming X ($499.00)
Memory: 32GB (2 x 16GB) G.Skill Trident Z Neo DDR4-3600 C16 ($176.99)
Storage PCIe-SSD: ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB NVME M.2 Solid State Drive ($134.99)
Power Supply: Corsair RMx Series RM650x 650W ATX 2.4 Power Supply ($129.99)
Case: Lian Li LANCOOL 205 Mid Tower Case ($69.99)
Total: $1766.85

but the Graphics Card is not available from Amazon, only from sellers who want $699 instead of the $499 listed up above, can someone tell me is there another listing for around the $499? or another site? i'm so unfamiliar i don't want to accidentally buy the wrong thing

thank you in advanced
 

Alex Glawion

CG Hardware Specialist @ CGDirector
Staff member
Joined
Jun 12, 2020
Messages
388
Reaction score
67
Points
28
The Stock situation is crazy right now, You might be able to find a normally priced Nvidia RTX 2070 SUPER 8GB on Newegg though:

 
R

Ricky

Guest
The Stock situation is crazy right now, You might be able to find a normally priced Nvidia RTX 2070 SUPER 8GB on Newegg though:

thank you Alex for responding, ever since i posted this i religiously checked amazon and even though it was $50 more than the original price, i was able to get one for around $500. doesn't ship till November so i hope the order doesn't get canceled lol
 
R

Ricky

Guest
The Stock situation is crazy right now, You might be able to find a normally priced Nvidia RTX 2070 SUPER 8GB on Newegg though:

Hey Alex, i'm not sure if i should ask this here, but i ran into my first issue with my build...
i can't get the Intel Processor into the mother board, i feel like this looked so simple on videos i watched.
i found the arrow in the bottom corner, and the two little indents line up, i dropped the Processor into the spot, i tried to close the "frame" (not sure what that part is called, the part that looks like it keeps it in place), and i feel like i have to really, really use force to close it, i have to pull down the metal "arm", feels like i'm going to break something. looks like i even made some marks on the sides of the Processor
is it meant to be that forceful? the manual isn't very helpful, i can't find a youtube video for help, so i was hoping you could help me out
 

Tived

New member
Joined
Nov 12, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
2
Points
3
Ouch, Ricky,

is this your first time? 😉 Sorry, I don't mean to sound rude.

if you are not confident, I would take it down to your local shop, pay them to assemble it. swallow your pride and save your money (e.g. you don't have to go out and buy the parts once again! because you broke them)

I have been in your situation, though many moons ago and I damaged a CPU and motherboard back in the 486DX days, you not even know what that is ;-) showing my age here.

its great to be able to buy things online, but its even better to support your local shop if you have one, at least 60/40% so when you need them they are still there and can survive.

sorry, if I was local i'd give you a hand

H
 

Alex Glawion

CG Hardware Specialist @ CGDirector
Staff member
Joined
Jun 12, 2020
Messages
388
Reaction score
67
Points
28
I found the 10xxx series of intel cpus and z490 motherboards to be a lot tighter than usual. I ran into this problem with a 10900k and 10600k review a few months ago. It feels like it'll break but ultimately it seems to be fine. This is just my experience, no guarantee though :)
 
R

Ricky

Guest
Ouch, Ricky,

is this your first time? 😉 Sorry, I don't mean to sound rude.

if you are not confident, I would take it down to your local shop, pay them to assemble it. swallow your pride and save your money (e.g. you don't have to go out and buy the parts once again! because you broke them)

I have been in your situation, though many moons ago and I damaged a CPU and motherboard back in the 486DX days, you not even know what that is ;-) showing my age here.

its great to be able to buy things online, but its even better to support your local shop if you have one, at least 60/40% so when you need them they are still there and can survive.

sorry, if I was local i'd give you a hand

H
i would have loved to have someone build it for me, but i can't afford it right now. but i like to learn new things so i thought i'd give it a try. besides being scared of using force on the CPU everything else has been going relatively smooth.
 
R

Ricky

Guest
I found the 10xxx series of intel cpus and z490 motherboards to be a lot tighter than usual. I ran into this problem with a 10900k and 10600k review a few months ago. It feels like it'll break but ultimately it seems to be fine. This is just my experience, no guarantee though :)
okay, after some time i finally went back, used some more force and i got it closed, wasn't as scary as i thought.

so i was going to write you that i am "done" with my build, but i ran into an issue that i can't seem to solve, putting the glass front back on, the Be Quiet CPU fan sticks out too far, like a lot too far, i can't move it back because it's already flush against the memory. the memory is installed in the slots 2 and 4 like the manual said to do, so i don't think i can move them...

am i screwed?


 

Alex Glawion

CG Hardware Specialist @ CGDirector
Staff member
Joined
Jun 12, 2020
Messages
388
Reaction score
67
Points
28
Is that the bequiet dark rock pro 4, or just non-pro4? Could you install the fan in a pull config on the other side and maybe add a smaller fan for push on this side? For dual channel config you should leave the ram as they are. No wiggle room on the cooler anymore?
 
R

Ricky

Guest
Is that the bequiet dark rock pro 4, or just non-pro4? Could you install the fan in a pull config on the other side and maybe add a smaller fan for push on this side? For dual channel config you should leave the ram as they are. No wiggle room on the cooler anymore?
that is the non-pro regular 4

i woke up with renewed energy and decided to take the fan off and see if there was any extra room, and if i put it pretty much all the way in ram slot 1, and it pushes a little against the ram in slot 2 i can get it lower and the glass front to fit back on. so is this okay? no issues with it kinda pushing against the ram?



so if that is okay, and then i think i am done, i'm 90% sure everything is plugged into where it should be

- is there anything i should do, or double check before i attempt to turn it on?
- do i have to update the BIOS now? with a usb stick? or can i do that after it's up and running?
- i just remember this, the graphics card booklet says to have Windows 7, 10 or higher installed, of course i am using windows 8.1, is that going to be an issue for me?
- will i want to plug the monitor into the Mother Board (i think it's called) IO slot, or the slot in the graphics card?

so when i do turn it on, i'm just going to hit Delete or F2 to get into the BIOS and i'm going to change the boot order to be the cloned hard drive (which thank you for that program recommendation, was really easy to do), and then like you said i might have some issues with the different drivers but it should, hopefully, work itself out?

once it is up and running, is there anything i should be monitoring to just make sure that i did everything correctly?

i think that is it for now, thank you for your time Alex
 

Alex Glawion

CG Hardware Specialist @ CGDirector
Staff member
Joined
Jun 12, 2020
Messages
388
Reaction score
67
Points
28
As long as it doesn't push against the ram too strongly it should be fine.

You shouldn't need to update the bios, because the cpu is supported out of the box. There might be some bugfixes or feature updates with a new bios, but unless you are having problems, no update necessary.

Win 8.1 should be fine. The Monitor should be plugged into the GPU, not the motherboard io.

Jup set boot order to your os installation drive, and just go through win installation. Either F2 or DEL should do it. There is also the option to press F8 I think on most motherboards which brings up the boot manager right away without having to go into bios.
 
R

Ricky

Guest
As long as it doesn't push against the ram too strongly it should be fine.

You shouldn't need to update the bios, because the cpu is supported out of the box. There might be some bugfixes or feature updates with a new bios, but unless you are having problems, no update necessary.

Win 8.1 should be fine. The Monitor should be plugged into the GPU, not the motherboard io.

Jup set boot order to your os installation drive, and just go through win installation. Either F2 or DEL should do it. There is also the option to press F8 I think on most motherboards which brings up the boot manager right away without having to go into bios.

hey, so i finally got a Monitor and a Keyboard, i turned the computer on, and after like what i would call a "welcome" screen, i pressed F1 and the computer booted right into my cloned SSD, no problems there
but i am having an issue with the WIFI, there is no wireless network option so i cannot connect to the internet, i tired to go to ASUS driver page but none of the available downloads for my motherboard said anything about a wireless driver, atleast i didn't see one. so i'm not sure what to do or how to get a wireless connection option available
 

Alex Glawion

CG Hardware Specialist @ CGDirector
Staff member
Joined
Jun 12, 2020
Messages
388
Reaction score
67
Points
28
Did you plug in the wifi antenna into your IO shield? Check the Windows Device Manager to see if all of the drivers are installed.
 
R

Ricky

Guest
Did you plug in the wifi antenna into your IO shield? Check the Windows Device Manager to see if all of the drivers are installed.
yes it's plugged it
and no there is no wireless driver listed when i go to device manager
and when i go into Network and Sharing there are no wireless options

i went to the Asus site

and i didn't see any of the options state they were for WIFI
 
R

Ricky

Guest
Should work. You can try it!
unfortunately that did not work, when i click on install it tells me it "requires a newer version of windows"

i tried to google, and i found this page of drivers https://www.asusdriversdownload.com/asus-drivers/asus-wifi
but all the downloads brings me to the same page and to download something called "Driver Easy", and i installed it on the new build and used an offline scan option, which gives me a ".deos" file, which i then brought to my old computer and opened it up and it gave me 2 drives to download:
- Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
- Realtek RTL8188EE 802.11 bng Wi-Fi adapter

so i chose to download the WIFI one, then brought it to my new computer and installed the files and it said it was going to bring me to another installer to finish setup, but nothing ever showed up, i then went into the folders of what was installed and clicked the "setup" and "install" applications and they run but then nothing happens

i noticed HP on something, and HP is my laptop, the hard drive that i cloned, so did the driver program get confused and give me HP drives and that's why they aren't installing?

i'm not sure what else to try, any ideas?
 
R

Ricky

Guest
This might help:
https://www.reddit.com/r/windows7/comments/ic2t63
If it does not, might have to use Win10 ... :(
thank you Alex
i decided that going to Windows 10 was prolly the best bet, so i installed it tonight, and boy was i surprised that you can install Windows 10 and still keep all your files/programs/settings, i had no idea that was an option. so that worked out, and the WiFi worked right away as well

there's something else i wanted to ask you, but i can't remember right now lol
but thanks again for your help, i'm glad i found that original article/post and i'm glad that you were right about how easy it is to build a PC, didn't really think it was something i could do, but hey look i did it! lol
 
Top