• Welcome to our Forum! Ask PC-Build Questions, discuss Tech-News, Content Creation & Gaming Workloads or get to know the CGDirector Community off-topic. Feel free to chime in with insight or questions on any existing topic too! :)

New User Introduction

S

shrdlu

Tech Intern
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a university student trying to do my first custom build, hoping to learn from the community here!

L

LSK1954

Tech Intern
Reaction score
Hi, my name is Larry. I am a senior citizen living in sunny California. I recently went back to school and got my (Master’s degree in Psychology)

I have a Skytech gaming pc. (I don’t know if it would really be considered a gaming PC, but that is how it was advertised). Then again, I am not a big gamer. I do not know if I just have not found the right game yet or what.I bought it in 2021. For a while now (like tonight) I am watching a fight video on YouTube and during the video it will have commercials, and often during the commercials it will end up locking up for a period of time and finally releasing later, or sometimes not at all. Also, a second problem: when I am listening to a long music video, (sometimes these are 2 or 3-hour videos) and I jump around a few times to try and find a certain song or something in the video, next thing you know the sound starts coming on very loud, statically, and scratchy, and you have to backtrack it or play with it to get it to sound right again. Sometimes you have to go as far as rebooting to fix the sound problem. I am wondering, do I need a new sound card and/or video or graphics card? If I knew what I needed to fix the problem, I would get it. I just hate replacing things and then finding out that was not the problem. What do I need to do or replace to fix these problems? Please help, thanks. Below is the list of what I am working with. I welcome any and all comments, suggestions, and advice.