• Welcome to our Forum! Ask PC-Build Questions, discuss Tech-News, Content Creation & Gaming Workloads or get to know the CGDirector Community off-topic. Feel free to chime in with insight or questions on any existing topic too! :)

Motion Media Artist/ Compositing Generalist in need of a PC

Z

Zanner

Hello,
I am a Motion Media Artist/Animator and work in Film.
I am new to building a PC specifically my Animation/MotionGraphics/VFX needs.
There are so many things to consider and keep track of while building a PC and as a freelance artist, my budget is limited.
I am looking to start a foundation build that I can gradually build upon. After reading similar posts and using the PC builder I realize I could benefit from multiple GPU's, a decent size RAM(my current laptop has 16GB and I would like to work towards 64GB or more), and it can all get costly. I want my build to be flexible and one I can improve upon within the year as I find room in my income.
I could use your wisdom.

My next project is focused on Motion Media, VFX Compositing, and Editing 4k video and starts soon.
I'll be using After Effects, Nuke and Davinci
The project after is focused on 3D animation (C4D and Blender)

Software that I use almost daily:

After Effects, Premiere, Photoshop, and Illustrator for Design and Video Editing.
C4D/Blender for 3d modeling and animation. Arnold and Redshift for Rendering.
Blender/Nuke/After effects for compositing.
Toon Boom for 2d animation.

These are the two builds that come up using the PC Builder.

Motion Graphics Build:
CPU: Intel i7 10700k 3.7GHz 8-Core Processor ($319.97)
CPU Cooler: be quiet! Dark Rock 4 ($69.90)
Motherboard: MSI Z490 Tomahawk ATX LGA1200 ($219.45)
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1650 Super 4GB - Gigabyte ($445.99)
Memory: 16GB (2 x 8GB) Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200 C16 ($88.99)
Storage SSD: Crucial MX500 1TB 2.5" Solid State Drive ($112.99)
Storage PCIe-SSD: ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB NVME M.2 Solid State Drive ($64.99)